D: You can get used to anything, you know?

C: Why do you say that?

D: You can get used to anything, I’ll say that.

C: Tell me why.

D: Why? Why what?

C: Why do you tell me you can get used to anything?

D: Huck Finn got used to living civilized with the Widow Douglas.

C: Sure he did, but why do you tell me that?

D: You can get used to your work situation.

C: You think so?

D: Do you agree?

C: I usually agree with you, but I have to think about this one.

D: You don’t usually agree with me!

C: Well I try to. Sometimes I just don’t understand what you’re talking about.

D: Do you know what I’m talking about concerning your job?

C: Well, tell me. Tell me what you’re talking about.

D: Not tonight. You have to go to bed.

C: Will we talk again about this subject?

D: Yes, soon.

C: Good. See you then.

 

D: Do you remember back when you used to write about being president?

C: I thought you wrote about that.

D: Between the two of us, I don’t remember who did what anymore.

C: Do you mean you want me to keep that private?

D: Sort of. Mostly I meant that I can’t keep track of who does what.

C: That’s how it should be.

D: Do you still think about being president?

C: I think it’s a job I wouldn’t like that much.

D: Why not?

C: Too much trouble.

D: Every job has trouble.

C: Sure, but compare the job of a writer with that of the president. The two people face different kinds of troubles.

D: You’re right about that.

C: So if you could be anything, what would you say?

D: I was about to ask you the same thing.

C: I know. I wanted to get the question in first.

D: I’d be God.

C: You mean you’re happy with what you are?

D: Sure.

C: John Boyd said, “Do you want to be somebody, or do you want to do something?”

D: It recalls that question you ask little children, doesn’t it: “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

C: Boyd would have said, “What do you want to do when you grow up?”

D: He thought that what you do gives your life meaning. What you do accomplishes your life’s purpose.

C: I just wrote about that! Every life has meaning, we’re all here for a reason.

D: But you can’t generalize from that to talk about the meaning of life. That implies that the meaning of every single life has something in common with every one of the others.

C: Do you believe that?

D: What?

C: That life has many meanings, but no one meaning.

D: Of course. When I set the clock going, that’s just what I wanted.

C: Good enough. I’m going upstairs now.

D: See you in the morning?

C: I wish.

D: Well just turn on the computer so you can see my initial. It’ll help you pray.

C: Thanks.

D: G’night.

C: Goodnight, God.

