D: I’d like to lead a revolution in this country.
C: You can’t do that.
D: Why not?
C: Everyone looks up to you. You’re God.
D: So?
C: God doesn’t lead revolutions.
D: Who told you that?
C: No one. It’s just true.
D: Look, it doesn’t matter that much what I do. It matters what you do.
C: How do you mean?
D: Look, I lead all kinds of things. But I depend on you to make things happen.
C: Do you think we live in a dystopia right now?
D: What do you think?
C: I don’t know. If we do live in one, we’re most in need of a revolution.
D: Did you watch Hunger Games the other night?
C: Sure. Emily and I watched it after we had Chinese food together.
D: Would you call President Snow’s Panem a dystopia?
C: Of course. Just look at the those soldiers in white uniforms. They look like the storm troopers in Star Wars.
D: You need more than storm troopers to have a dystopia.
C: That’s right. What would you say is the essential quality of a dystopia?
D: Most people are miserable. Even the wealthy and the powerful are miserable, though it’s not so apparent for them.
C: You mean, if people are happy, they must be in a happy environment?
D: Wouldn’t you say that’s the quality that defines, if not utopia, then something that’s close to it?
C: That’s how Jefferson thought. He said that if government lets people keep what they have earned, if it doesn’t take it and spend it profligately, they must be happy.
D: That’s always been the promise of liberty: people are happy when they can keep what they earn.
C: In the case of Panem, they sent their wealth to the capital, and they send their own children as tributes to be killed.
D: It was a ritual of human sacrifice, dressed up as entertainment.
C: Why did the districts let it happen?
D: They couldn’t resist.
C: With that, let’s call it a day and a night. I have to get some sleep for tomorrow.
D: Understood. Will you let me lead your revolution?
C: Hah! You don’t need my permission for anything. If you want to lead a revolution, you’ll lead a revolution!
D: Don’t be so sure. A leader has to have followers.
C: Well, you have one follower here. How many more do you need?
D: Just a few more. No warriors, though.
C: That’s right. We want wise and politically astute men like Ghandhi.
D: We could use some women, too.
C: I don’t know. Women and revolution don’t mix.
D: Believe me, if you want a non-violent revolution to succeed, you need to involve women.
C: I believe you. You remind me of that woman in Syria who led people during the early stages of the revolution there.
D: Now that it’s civil war, men do the fighting.
C: Women die along with them.
D: Better to throw over tyrants without the blood.
C: How?
D: You’ll figure that out somehow. Talk to people and listen to them.
C: I can’t talk to people about a revolution!
D: Just talk to them. Hear what they have to say.
C: Will you help me?
D: Sure. How else can I lead?
C: Let’s go then, my friend.

